Offered occupations: to read before the application

One NGO, one mission, various professions. Go to detailed description

Offered occupations: to read before the application

One NGO, one mission, various professions. Go to detailed description

Sciences Education, Nature Education, Sustainable Development Education play a key role in the building of a better world.

Upon receiving in 2011 the consultative status to the UN as an NGO, the association Objectif Sciences International received on this opportunity the further recognition of the importance of its mission. It happened just before the 20th anniversary of its foundation (which was celebrated in 2012).

In this context, what occupations are offered within the NGO?

Numerous job offers are proposed within the Objective Sciences International. Ranging from graphic design, through strategy, scientific research, publication, communication, logistics security to accountancy.

As for the fieldwork, we meet our audience’s demands. Therefore, they can find also other jobs, which do not deviate, in terms of the importance, from the others; sociocultural animator, logisticians, technicians, daily life animators, service employees, household employees, sports trainers, seasonal sciences educators and professional sciences educators. These are the professions, which, in contact with public beneficials, make the difference.

The jobs presented on this website are the ones who belong to the science education group of professions.

Regarding the sociocultural animator professions: visit this website

Regarding the headquarters’ professions: visit this website

In the domain of sciences education, two formats of employment are available to you.

In the case, Objectif Sciences International (OSI) assigns new colleagues to the first mission jobs. These missions allow people to prove themselves, and to demonstrate their capacity to understand, to respect, and to comply with the rules and the working environment of the OSI organization. In order to OSI can develop projects of high Participatory Research it is necessary to prove oneself during an initial year of working. New colleagues who will not be angry with another person, who will not break equipment, who will be able to protect their sleep time by organizing their day schedule properly, who will draw up the reports of quality and who will be able to make the updated list of equipment... will be reassigned next year. From this point, you can get the access to missions that are more complex. Naturally, only if you want it and if the NGO finds you competent enough to succeed fully.

Seasonal sciences educators

This page is designed for those who are interested in applying for a part-time or full-time job. If you are a scientist or teacher already employed stationary and you would like to, in addition to your job or as part of your job, contribute to the project in a very simple way (training, applied research, basic research ...), please visit this website to check the call for contribution.
Otherwise continue reading this page.

What does the work of a seasonal sciences educator consist in?

  • You are a student,
  • you are a technician in a laboratory,
  • you are retired,
  • or you already have a job elsewhere but additionally you would like to replenish your year by returning regularly do the animation of sciences,
  • you are a sociocultural animator and you are complementing your full-time job by adding several missions with fixed-term contract with different employers, you want to add the animation of sciences, Nature and sustainable development missions to your annual agenda,
  • or you are a father or a mother and you want to animate groups of young people or adults on different occasions in the year...

In all the cases listed above, or if you find yourself in yet another situation that allows you to animate the groups during a specific time periods and within the fields that appeal to you or they make you want to learn more about them, you can animate different types of missions such as:

  • Animation of the residential Classes of Scientific Discoveries from Monday to Friday in the autumn winter or spring,
  • Animation of the residential Holiday Camp of 15 days from Sunday to Sunday, during autumn, winter or spring school holidays...
  • Animation of the Sciences Clubs every Tuesday or Thursday evening, Wednesday or Saturday daytime in your city
  • Animation of the residential Holiday Camp of 1 month or 2 months in July and August
  • etc.

In order to be a aeasonal sciences educators in NGO Objectif Sciences International, you have to:

  • Apply as soon as possible in accordance with the procedure described on this website (see the appropriate section),
  • Then participate in the Stage 1 of training concerning the Science Pedagogy by Project pedagogy and the Research training by practice of real Research which will be given for you by trainers of the NGO.

After the Stage 1 training and the application in accordance with the procedure described on this website (see the appropriate section), you receive an entitlement that allows you to animate in all Centres for Scientific Living, Sciences Clubs and other organizations of the Objective Sciences International network, in the world, regardless of a country. Therefore, the only limits are your mastering the language used on the mission and your preparation on the technical theme of the mission (astronomy, geology, biology, etc.).

The Seasonal Scientific Educators are employees of the organization and they are responsible for the implementation of the mission of animation (a Discovery class, a Holiday Camp ...) but if they are also the autoentreprenors they can also choose to charge the association.

You can also decide to create your job and your future career based on knowledge acquired within Objectif Sciences International missions and become a full-time Professional Sciences Educator (see below).

Professional Sciences Educator

The Professional Sciences Educators are the Seasonal Sciences Educators who decided to continue their participation in the further stages of training in Sciences Education and who obtained the mandate of:

  • priority in hiring on a mission,
  • higher earnings,
  • schedules propitious to the family life (since it is then possible for you to establish yourself permanently in a place close to the Centre for Scientific Living that drives the Stays and the Discovery Classes in your field. Thanks to that, you have the opportunity to come back home in the evening),
  • access to international mobility throughout the OSI network (with Stage 2 – St2, you , you can enclose the operations conducted by any OSI Group in the World).

Therefore, the Professional Sciences Educators are active within the organization established by them to host their professional activity or within the self-employment and they invoice the Objectif Sciences International.

The Professional Sciences Educator receives the Stage 2 (St2) training and he continues the education in the field of animation of high quality in Sciences, Nature and Sustainable Development. They can sell their services for others beneficiaries then those from Objectif Sciences International network but they must give the priority to the Objectif Sciences International, in accordance with the agreement included in the contract. This amounts to balance the priority of hiring made to them by Objectif Sciences International (as mentioned previously).

Thanks to the presence of the Professional Sciences Educators in the team, Objectif Sciences International gains in quality, security and serenity. The Educators, by passing their advanced training and being able to obtain their mandate of Professional Sciences Educator, show their professionalism. The Centre of Living and the Sciences Club will pay much more for the Professional Sciences Educators but in return, they will get the assurance that what was planned will be prepared and what was prepared will be actually implemented as planned.

By obtaining this kind of mandate, the seasonal educator, who becomes the Professional Sciences Educator, benefits from many advantages such as: better knowledge, higher salary, employment guarantee in long term as well as in short term. Furthermore, he gains the professional recognition, visibility among other partners outside the Objectif Sciences International network, high quality training, schedules favoring a lasting professional life ... the benefits are numerous.

To become Professional Sciences Educator you must first:

  • have submitted the application in accordance with the procedure described on this website (see the appropriate box),
  • have completed the Stage 1 of training in Sciences Pedagogy by the Project pedagogy and the Research training by Practice of real Research (multiple dates during the year),
  • have animated 60 days within the Objectif Sciences International as seasonal educator (as salaried employee or invoicing depending on your situation), To submit your application in order to animate as a scientific educator, please see the offers’ of employment section of this website and act without waiting so that we have time to study your project with you,
  • have completed Stage 2 of training in Sciences Pedagogy (a date is proposed to you after your sixty-day animation),
  • Sign your mandate with the NGO, and get your official certification allowing you to offer your Professional Educator services in all Centers and Clubs of the network and to invoice them according to the contracted network tariffs.

Then, you need to:

  • follow your annual and continuing training in this field:
    • participation in the Pedagogical Pre-Camps every year (2 months before the peak of the season),
    • participation in the Technical Pre-Camps every year (1 month before the peak of the season),
    • participation in the Post-Camps and GA of Campers every year (2 months after the end of the seasonal peak).

As a Professional Sciences Educator you are also invited to annual, ten-day NGO Public Congress which takes place in Geneva (Switzerland) around the International General Assembly of the Objectif Sciences International within the premises of the United Nations (Palace of Nations, Geneva). On this occasion you meet not only another Professional Sciences Educator of the Objectif Sciences International but also the Research Programmes Managers, the Pedagogical Logistics Programmes Managers (who coordinate the Centers for Scientific Living), the Development Programmes Managers (who increase the number of campers during the stays) and the leaders of the international headquarters. In addition, you can make numerous contacts with congressional visitors who are essentially the UN officials, representatives of other NGOs active in the environment, sciences, biology, health, agriculture, food, pollution, University Researchers...

Nos partenaires

Voir également

Les métiers proposés : à lire avant toute candidature

Une ONG, une mission, des postes différents. Voir descriptif détaillé

Les métiers proposés : à lire avant toute candidature

Une ONG, une mission, des postes différents. Voir descriptif détaillé

L’éducation aux sciences, à la Nature et au développement durable jouent donc aujourd’hui un rôle fondamental clé dans la construction d’un monde meilleur.

En recevant en 2011 le statut consultatif auprès de l’ONU en tant que ONG, l’association Objectif Sciences International recevait par cette occasion une reconnaissance supplémentaire de l’importance de sa mission à la veille des festivités des 20 ans de son équipe (qui ont été fêtés en 2012).

Dans un tel contexte, quels métiers sont proposés au sein de l’ONG ?

De très nombreuses offres d’emplois sont proposées au sein d’Objectif Sciences International, allant du graphisme à la comptabilité en passant par la stratégie, la recherche scientifique, la publication, la communication ou encore la sécurité logistique.

Mais du côté de nos activités de terrain, face au public, se trouvent encore d’autres métiers tous aussi importants les uns que les autres ; animateurs socioculturels, logisticiens, techniciens, animateurs de vie quotidienne, cuisiniers, employés de services, de ménage, éducateurs sportifs, éducateurs scientifiques saisonniers et éducateurs scientifiques professionnels. Ce sont ces métiers qui, au contact des publics bénéficiaires, font la différence.

Sur ce site Internet, les métiers qui vous sont présentés sont les métiers de l’éducation aux sciences.

Concernant les métiers de l’animation socioculturelle : consulter ce site web

Concernant les métiers du siège : consulter ce site web

Dans le domaine de l’éducation aux sciences, deux formats d’emplois s’offrent à vous.

Dans tous les cas de figure, Objectif Sciences International (OSI) attribue aux nouveaux collègues des postes de première mission. Ces missions permettent à chacun-e de faire ses preuves, et de démontrer ses capacités à comprendre, respecter, et faire respecter, les règles et le cadre de travail et d’organisation d’OSI. Pour que OSI puisse développer des projets de Recherche Participative de haut niveau, il vous est nécessaire d’avoir fait vos preuves lors d’une première année de fonctionnement. Les nouveaux collègues qui ne se seront pas fâchés avec un tiers, qui n’auront pas cassé de matériel, qui auront su protéger leur temps de sommeil en s’organisant convenablement dans leur journée, qui produiront des rapports de qualité, qui seront capable de rendre la liste du matériel à jour... seront réaffectés l’année suivante. C’est à partir de ce moment là que vous pouvez accéder à des missions plus complexes si vous le désirez, et si l’ONG considère que vous avez les moyens de les réussir pleinement.

Educateur Scientifique Saisonnier

Cette page s’adresse aux personnes qui désirent déposer leur candidature pour trouver un travail à temps partiel ou à plein-temps. Si vous êtes scientifique ou enseignant déjà en poste et que vous désirez contribuer au projet de manière très simple en plus de votre travail ou dans le cadre de votre travail (formations, recherche appliquée, recherche fondamentale...), vous pouvez consulter l’appel à contribution sur ce lien.
Sinon continue la lecture de cette page.

Qu’est-ce que le travail d’Educateur Scientifique Saisonnier ?

  • Vous êtes étudiant-e,
  • vous êtes technicien-ne dans un laboratoire,
  • vous êtes retraité-e,
  • ou encore, vous avez déjà un travail ailleurs mais vous désirez également compléter votre année en revenant régulièrement faire de l’animation aux sciences,
  • vous êtes animateur-trice socioculturel-le et vous complétez votre temps plein annuel en additionnant plusieurs missions en contrats à durée déterminée dans l’année auprès de différents employeurs, et vous désirez ajouter des missions d’animation aux sciences, à la Nature et au développement durable à votre agenda annuel,
  • ou encore, vous êtes père de famille ou mère de famille et vous désirez animer des groupes de jeunes ou d’adultes à différentes occasions dans l’année...

Dans tous les cas de figure listés ci-dessus ou si vous vous trouvez dans une autre situation encore qui vous permet de venir animer sur des périodes déterminées dans des domaines qui vous plaisent ou qu’il vous fait envie d’apprendre, alors vous pouvez animer différents types de missions telles que :

  • Animation de Classes de Découvertes Scientifiques en résidentiel du lundi au vendredi à l’automne, en hiver ou au printemps,
  • Animation de Camps de Vacances de 15 jours du Dimanche au Dimanche, en résidentiel, sur les vacances scolaires d’automne, d’hiver, de printemps...
  • Animation de Clubs Sciences tous les mardi soir ou jeudi soir, ou mercredi journée ou samedi journée, dans votre ville
  • Animation de Camps de Vacances de 1 mois ou 2 mois en juillet et août, en résidentiel
  • etc.

Pour pouvoir être Educateur Scientifique Saisonnier sur les animations menées par l’ONG Objectif Sciences International, vous devrez :

  • Déposer le plus vite possible votre candidature conformément à la procédure décrite sur ce site web (voir rubrique concernée),
  • Suivre ensuite la formation de niveau 1 en Pédagogie des Sciences selon la Pédagogie du Projet et la Formation à la Recherche par la Pratique d’une Recherche réelle, qui vous sera donnée par les formateurs de l’ONG.

A l’issue de cette formation de niveau 1, et si vous avez d’ores et déjà déposé votre candidature conformément à la procédure décrite sur ce site web (voir rubrique concernée), alors vous recevez une habilitation qui vous permet d’animer dans la totalité des Centres de Séjours Scientifiques, Clubs Sciences et autres organismes du réseau d’Objectif Sciences International de la Planète, sans distinction de pays, la seule limite étant alors votre maîtrise de la langue pratiquée sur la mission en question et votre préparation sur la thématique technique de la mission (astronomie, géologie, biologie, etc).

Les Educateurs Scientifiques Saisonniers sont salariés de l’organisme qui est chargé de la mise en oeuvre de la mission d’animation (une Classe de Découverte, un Camp de Vacances...) mais s’ils ont une activité d’autoentrepreneur ils peuvent aussi faire le choix de facturer l’association.

Vous pouvez aussi décider de faire votre métier et votre carrière professionnelle de tous les savoir-faire acquis au sein d’Objectif Sciences International, et faire le choix de devenir Educateur Scientifique Professionnel à plein-temps (voir ci-dessous).

Educateur Scientifique Professionnel

Les Educateurs Scientifiques Professionnels sont des éducateurs scientifiques saisonniers qui décident de suivre de nouvelles étapes de formation à l’éducation aux sciences, et qui obtiennent un mandat leur donnant :

  • une priorité à l’embauche sur une mission,
  • une rémunération plus élevée,
  • des horaires permettant une vie de famille (car il vous est alors possible de vous établir durablement dans un lieu proche du Centre de Séjours Scientifique qui anime les Séjours ou les Classes de Découvertes dans votre domaine, et donc, ce faisant, vous avez la possibilité de rentrer le soir à la maison),
  • l’accès à la mobilité internationale dans tout le réseau d’OSI (avec la St2, vous pouvez encadrer sur les opérations dirigées par tout Groupe OSI dans le Monde).

Les Educateurs Scientifiques Professionnels sont alors actifs au sein d’un organisme créé par eux pour héberger leur activité professionnelle, ou en tant qu’auto-entrepreneur, et ils facturent Objectif Sciences International.

Les Educateurs Scientifiques Professionnels reçoivent la formation de Niveau 2 (St2) et la formation continue dans le domaine de l’animation de très haute qualité en Sciences, à la Nature et au développement durable. Ils peuvent vendre leurs services à d’autres bénéficiaires que ceux du réseau Objectif Sciences International, mais ils doivent donner la priorité au réseau d’Objectif Sciences International conformément à l’accord passé au sein du contrat. Ceci revient à équilibrer la priorité à l’embauche qui leur est faite par Objectif Sciences International (comme précisé précédemment).

Par la présence d’éducateurs scientifiques professionnels dans l’équipe, Objectif Sciences International gagne en qualité, sécurité et sérénité. Les éducateurs qui décident de passer les formations supérieures afin de pouvoir se saisir d’un mandat d’Educateur Scientifique Professionnel font preuve d’une démarche de professionnalisme. Le Centre de Séjours ou le Club Sciences va payer plus cher un Educateur Scientifique Professionnel, mais en échange il obtient une garantie que ce qui a été prévu sera préparé, et que ce qui aura été préparé sera réellement mis en œuvre comme prévu.

En se saisissant d’un tel mandat, l’éducateur saisonnier qui devient Educateur Scientifique Professionnel bénéficie d’un meilleur savoir-faire, d’un salaire plus élevé, d’une garantie d’emploi, sur le long terme comme sur le court terme, mais gagne aussi une reconnaissance professionnelle, une visibilité auprès d’autres partenaires en dehors du réseau Objectif Sciences International, des formations de qualité, des horaires permettant une vie professionnelle durable... les avantages sont nombreux.

Pour devenir Educateur Scientifique Professionnel il faut au préalable :

  • avoir déposé votre candidature conformément à la procédure décrite sur ce site web (voir rubrique concernée),
  • avoir suivi la formation de niveau 1 en Pédagogie des Sciences selon la Pédagogie du Projet et la Formation à la Recherche par la Pratique d’une Recherche réelle (plusieurs dates dans l’année)
  • avoir animé 60 jours au sein d’Objectif Sciences International en tant qu’éducateur saisonnier (salarié ou sur facturation selon votre situation), pour déposer votre candidature afin d’animer en tant qu’éducateur scientifique, veuillez consulter la rubrique des offres d’emploi de ce site web, et agir sans attendre afin que nous ayons le temps d’étudier avec vous votre projet
  • avoir suivi la formation de niveau 2 en Pédagogie des Sciences (une date vous est proposée à l’issue de vos 60 jours d’animation),
  • signer votre mandat avec l’ONG, et obtenir votre certification officielle vous permettant de proposer vos services d’éducateur professionnel l’ensemble des Centres et Clubs du réseau, et de les facturer selon les tarifs conventionnés du réseau.

Ensuite, il vous faut :

  • suivre chaque année votre formation continue dans ce domaine :
    • Présence au Pré-Camps Pédagogique, tous les ans (2 mois avant la haute saison)
    • Présence au Pré-Camps Technique, tous les ans (1 mois avant la haute saison)
    • Présence au Post-Camps, AG des Participants, tous les ans (2 mois après la fin de la haute saison)

En tant qu’Educateur Scientifique Professionnel vous êtes également convié chaque année à venir durant 10 jours au Congrès public de l’ONG qui se déroule à Genève (Suisse) autour de l’Assemblée Générale internationale d’Objectif Sciences International, au sein des locaux de l’ONU (Palais des Nations, Genève). A l’occasion de ce congrès qui a lieu tous les ans vous rencontrez tous les autres Educateurs Scientifiques Professionnels d’Objectif Sciences International qui s’y rendent, mais aussi les Responsables de Programmes de Recherche, les Responsables de Programmes Pédagogie Logistique (qui coordonnent les Centres de Séjours Scientifiques), les Responsables de de Programmes de Développement (qui augmentent le nombre de participants sur les séjours), et les dirigeants du siège international. De même, vous pouvez prendre de nombreux contacts avec les visiteurs du Congrès, qui sont essentiellement des fonctionnaires de l’ONU, des représentants d’autres ONG actives dans l’environnement, les sciences, la biologie, la santé, l’agriculture, l’alimentation, la pollution, des Chercheurs d’Université... et vous pouvez mettre sur pied de nouveaux projets pour aller toujours plus loin dans la résolution en faveur du développement durable.

Nos partenaires

Voir également